Dark Pool

Saw this little pool while stumbling around in the dark looking for interesting subject to try and capture. When I saw the water I had no idea how the actual water would turn out. Would it just be a reflection or blur. I was pleasantly surprised

Dark Pool

Dark Pool

Behind the scenes
Exposure: 183sec
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 18 mm
ISO Speed: 400

As with most night shots the noise was my biggest issue. I love the colours of the night that come through with these longer exposures so gave a little bump to vibrance and saturation. I then took a torch I had and lit up the right side as the moon was rising from my left and there was light coming from that direction. The great thing about light painting is that you never really know what will happen. I was quite happy with the results and the fact I did not have to change the file too much. I’ve heard of ETTR (Expose to the Right) and am now wondering whether this might not help a bit with night shooting? Although you would have to have exposures for quite a while longer than normal.

Leave a Reply

