Mermaids Rock

the two original images were taken with my final thought of blending the two in Photoshop. I saw the wonderful sky and the rock on the beach in the foreground but my lens is limited to the widest angle it can achieve. I once saw a video that John Paul Caponigro explained how we need to think a bit outside the box. I needed that extra bit of sky so I took two shots and then blended them together.

Sky

Sky

I wanted to make the sky pop with these amazing clouds. I still have a far way to go in terms of processing and I would have loved to be able to pull move definition out of the clouds and clean up the hazy horizon but I also did not want to overdo it. I reckon its vital to go in with a plan and then stick to it. I could easily see myself playing around with this image for hours tweaking hear and there. My idea was to focus on the rock but somehow I had darkened the sand down to much and its sort of blends into the sand. Maybe I will go back and fix that at a later stage.

Beach

Beach

The image below is something I’m really proud of as its my first attempt to really blend something together and then use various adjustment layers to bring out certain area’s of the image. Out of everything I really like how the sea turned out. It seems to have the sparkle I remember seeing. So what does that first attempt looking like? This is a screen shot of the PS session.

PS Session

PS Session

So this was by all means the most advanced edit I have ever done but after watching the Ben Willmore webinar on Creative Livei felt quite confidant playing around with the layers. This is not a plug and I am not associated with them but go over there and check out this awesome concept. You can watch these amazing teachers free if you get there when they’re doing it live. The calendar is pretty full of great people to learn from so check it out. I would never have attempted this without the help of Ben.

Mermaids Rock

Mermaids Rock

Leave a Reply

